Ultimate mudroom

When we built the house, one of our pet peeves from our previous house was that we had no proper mudroom/ closet to put all the kids stuff in it. So when we designed our house, we purposely made a large mudroom that was accessible from our garage and from the front door. It was also designed so to be easy to clean, warm and easily hidden from the view of the front door by closing a door. For these reasons, our mudroom was places in the middle of our house adjoining the house itself and the garage and was included in the envelope of our ice building with a proper basement (useful for additional storage) and proper venting.

Unfortunately, as I have said before, the builder built us a great house but with nothing in it! So if you want to sit and hang your coat or just tie your shoe than you have to go the extra mile. At that point, we had no money anymore so that extra mile meant that I would build the mudroom myself from ideas I got from the internet.

The idea for my mudroom came from the ‘smiling mudroom’ from ‘anna white’s ‘ blog http://www.ana-white.com/2011/09/smiling-mudroom. I modified the idea to work with the dimensions of my own mudroom and built it scratch from birch plywood and reclaimed old growth pine flooring from the demolished house (yeah for recycling!). It took me over a month and I must say, my wife was pretty sceptical at first but in the end, it turned out awesome! I won’t get into all the details but you can look at the pictures yourself.

 

Leave a comment